Posted by: Big Beard | December 27, 2016

‘Christmas is About Giving’

Good afternoon!

I am overjoyed to share with you my students’ experiences in our classroom today. I started with showing a video you have on your website that gives an overview of what you do and why. After watching (which I personally have done 3 or 4 times and it always brings a smile to my face), I asked the students what they thought and why I showed it to them. Their answers included sympathy for the children who didn’t have clean water, and amazement that 95% of the money made off that cans is given back to help water programs.

For a Christmas gift, I gave each of them a can of water and a pencil. I honestly thought they’d be more excited about the pencil because they are always losing them, but they were so excited to get a can of water “from the video!” We immediately got out our laptops and starting researching more about your company on the website. They wrote facts and opinions (a unit we’re studying in reading) based on what they found and their happiness was contagious. Other teachers and students stopped in the classroom and immediately my students were sharing what they learned and why their Christmas gift was a simple can of water.

Finally, before leaving today, I reminded them that Christmas is about giving, not getting, and they are so fortunate to have clean water daily and a warm, loving home. I gave each of them one more can of water, not for themselves, but to give to another and share the joy and good your company brings to the world.

I have attached pictures, as requested, of the students receiving the water. I am hoping to mail some of the students letters once they are finished writing them. Thank you for all you do and for all your company has given. It is truly heart-warming to see the difference you make in the world, with such a simple yet innovative idea.

Sincerely,

Sami Conway

6th Grade – LeCenter Elem/Sec

Leave a Reply

Categories

